GeneralNew Zealand vs. Pakistan – T20I Series Preview

New Zealand vs. Pakistan – T20I Series Preview

Pakistan and New Zealand are set to face each other in a 5-match T20I series starting January 12 at Eden Park, Auckland.

After a disheartening Test whitewash by Australia in their recent tour, Pakistan is preparing for their upcoming challenges. Simultaneously, New Zealand recently drew their T20I series against Bangladesh. The last encounter between Pakistan and New Zealand in a T20I series took place in Pakistan and ended in a 2-2 tie in the 5-match series.

As the T20 World Cup 2024 kicks off on June 1, both teams have unveiled close-to-full-strength squads, setting the stage for an exhilarating series filled with anticipation. This T20 series will play a pivotal role in honing and fortifying both teams’ preparations for the upcoming World Cup.


Following Pakistan’s disheartening exit in the group stage of the 2023 World Cup, significant alterations were implemented in the team’s management and leadership.

Shaheen Shah Afridi is set to undertake his inaugural role as Pakistan captain, succeeding Babar Azam, who stepped down from the position in November 2023. This will also be Muhammad Rizwan’s first assignment as the vice-captain of the T20I team.

Amid recent criticism of the opening pair, it is anticipated that the renowned duo of Babar-Rizwan will be split, with the emerging batter Saim Ayub partnering with Rizwan at the top in the upcoming series. According to media reports, Babar is set to bat at number 3, followed by Fakhar Zaman.

Right-arm pacer Mohammad Abbas Afridi, wicketkeeper-batter Haseebullah, and leg-spinner Usama Mir have secured their first-time selections to the T20I team. Sahibzada Farhan, who initially debuted for Pakistan in T20Is in 2018, has also earned a comeback to the squad. Coming from an exceptional domestic season and Caribbean Premier League (CPL), Azam Khan will join the team again after a long layoff.

Initially named in the squad, Abrar Ahmed was later ruled out of the series due to a leg injury. Naseem Shah, Shadab Khan, and Ihsanullah were not considered for selection as they continue their rehabilitation after suffering injuries.

New Zealand

Kane Williamson will lead the Black Caps side for the series except for the third T20I. In his absence, the uncapped Josh Clarkson has been summoned as cover, and Mitchell Santner will assume the role of captain.

The squad includes experienced players such as Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, and Tim Southee. Mark Chapman, who was the Player of the T20I Series when New Zealand toured Pakistan last year, will resume his battle with the green team.

Rachin Ravindra sits out, while Lockie Ferguson is set to make a comeback towards the end of the series, having been named in the squad for matches 3, 4 & 5. Ben Sears has been drafted into the squad for the initial two matches to compensate for Ferguson’s absence.

Meanwhile, Kyle Jamieson and Michael Bracewell will be on the sidelines, nursing hamstring and Achilles injuries, respectively. The unavailable players include Trent Boult and Jimmy Neesham, who are participating in T20 leagues.



Shaheen Shah Afridi (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abbas Afridi, Azam Khan (wicket-keeper), Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (wicket-keeper), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sahibzada Farhan, Saim Ayub, Usama Mir and Zaman Khan

New Zealand

Kane Williamson (captain) (matches 1, 2, 4 and 5), Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson (match 3 only), Devon Conway (wicket-keeper), Lockie Ferguson (matches 3, 4 and 5), Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ben Sears (matches 1 and 2), Tim Seifert (wicket-keeper), Ish Sodhi and Tim Southee

Match Schedule

1st T20I: January 12, Eden Park, Auckland [11:10 AM Pakistan time]

2nd T20I: January 14, Seddon Park, Hamilton [11:10 AM Pakistan time]

3rd T20I: January 17, University Oval, Dunedin [5:00 AM Pakistan time]

4th T20I: January 19, Hagley Oval, Christchurch [11:10 AM Pakistan time]

5th T20I: January 21, Hagley Oval, Christchurch [5:00 AM Pakistan time]

The author

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, conse ctetuer adipiscing elit, sed diam nonum nibhie. Aenean sollici tudin, lorem auci elit consequat ipsutis sem niuis sed odio sit amet nibh vulputate cursus.


At Grassroots Cricket, we give paramount importance to feedback from our viewers. We value your opinions, and in case of suggestions or business inquiries, feel free to get in touch with us.

61-A Main Boulevard Gulberg, Lahore