PSL 2019

SNGPL skipper Misbah-ul-Haq was not happy with a number of umpiring decisions

Habib Bank Limited won the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy for the third time on basis of a 1st innings after a tense five-day draw. Earlier, SNGPL scored 94 runs in just 52 balls to declare the innings at 430/7. Imran Khalid smashed 4 sixes with 3 fours in his 48 balls 78, while Bilawal Bhatti also scored 30 off 11 balls with 2 fours and 3 sixes. Misbah ul Haq remained not out on 44 off 35 balls, while for HBL Abdul Rehman took 4 wickets for 156 runs. SNGPL set a target of 263 runs in a minimum of 79 overs remaining on the 5th day.

HBL lost inform opener Abid Ali (8) to Asad Ali in the 7th over of the innings. Jamal Anwar made a brisk 31 with 4 boundaries, but Bilawal Bhatti trapped HBL wicket-keeper in the 25th over. Before that, Bilawal also removed Saad Khan, who made 16. SNGPL took three wickets in 25 overs, while Agha Salman and Umar Akmal made a good partnership and stayed together till the 50th over. Again, Bilawal Bhatti came to make the breakthrough and removed Umar Akmal’s off-stump; the batsman had managed 52 off 85 balls with 8 boundaries. Five overs later, Iftikhar Ahmed trapped Agha Salman (24) in front of the wickets.

But captain Imran Farhat was solid against the SNGPL bowlers. In the 73rd over, Iftikhar struck again by removing Ramiz Aziz (2), but it was too late for SNGPL. Imran Farhat remained not out on 22 off 93 balls with Fahim Ashraf was unbeaten on 8* when umpires removed the bails for the last time in this final.

SNGPL skipper Misbah-ul-Haq was not happy with a number of umpiring decisions and apparently negative tactics from HBL which resulted in time-wasting.  It is the third title for HBL, with the bankers also winning the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy in 1977/78 and 2010/11. This season, HBL also won the Quaid-e-Azam One Day Cup.

Karachi Whites Khurram Manzoor was declared the best batsman; he had scored 886 runs at an average of 68.15 including 3 centuries and as many half centuries. Veteran fast bowler Aizaz Cheema took 60 wickets for Lahore Blues, averaging 13.20 to become the best batsman of this event. Peshawar’s Gohar Ali was declared the best wicket-keeper with 35 dismissals behind the stumps.

Player of the Match:

Umar Akmal – Test batsman scored a century in the first innings followed by a fifty to rescue HBL twice in this match. He deserved his player of the match award.