PSL 2019

Imad heroics thrash Lahore Blues as Islamabad taste first win


Lahore Blues: Saad Nasim (c), Rizwan Hussain, Nauman Anwar, Zain Abbas, Agha Salman, Raza Ali Dar, Zaid Alam (wk), Muhammad Irfan jr., Ehsan Adil, Qaiser Ashraf, Aizaz Cheema

Islamabad: Imad Wasim (c), Rohail Nazir (wk), Ali Sarfraz, Iftikhar Ahmed, Adeel Malik, Faizan Riaz, Sarmad Bhatti, Umar Gul, Arsal Sheikh, Junaid Khan

Venue: Multan Cricket Stadium, Multan

Imad Wasim’s all-round show helped earn a maiden win for Islamabad in the National T20 Cup. After winning the toss, the openers got off to a steady start before Ali Sarfraz and Imad Wasim added 49 for the second wicket in six overs. Ali made 45 off 36 balls with 5 boundaries and a six. Imad Wasim was in great touch, completing his half-century in just 30 balls. Imad’s 42 ball 64 included 5 fours and 2 sixes, helping Islamabad pile up 159/7 in 20 overs. For Lahore Blues, Aizaz Cheema (2/24) and Qaiser Ashraf (2/30) took two wickets each.

Rizwan Hussain ensured Lahore Blues start was similarly positive, but lacked the support from the other end to make the chase a realistic prospect. Rizwan smashed 5 sixes and 4 fours in a 54-ball 72. Earlier, Imad Wasim (2/25) and Sohail Khan (2/18) dented Lahore’s batting lineup and Umar Gul removed three batsmen for 22 runs to bowl out the defending champions for 135 in the final over.

Man of the Match:

Imad Wasim – While batting at No. 3, Imad Wasim played a captain’s innings and took two important wickets to get the all-important 2 points for his team.